…then I think you might like these books, too.

I’ve had a number of people email/tweet me for other books they might like after finishing Something Strange and Deadly. Since–ya know–there’s a full 9 months before A Darkness Strange and Lovely releases, so I am more than happy to comply.

1. The first book I would recommend–even though there aren’t any zombies or steampunk elements in sight–is Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty. I adore this series, and I think most readers of SS&D will too.

2. The Native Star and its sequel The Hidden Goddess by M.K. Hobson are my next recs. It’s not technically YA, but I think it’s absolutely suitable for teens. I love the heroine, Emily, and Dreadnought Stanton–DREADNOUGHT STANTON!! Oh my, he might be one of my favorite male leads of all time.

3. Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan was so amazing that I devoured it in a night. It has twisty mystery, a ton of humor, and an achingly wonderful romance. I cannot possibly recommend this book enough!

4. Sabriel by Garth Nix was what inspired me to go with walking dead and necromancy. His necromancy is FAR more clever than mine, but it’s also deliciously dark and creepy. I adore the entire Abhorsen series, and I really wanted to offer a similar aura of death in mine.

5. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins is a wonderful example of a snarky heroine who is definitely thrown into a world for which she ain’t prepared–which is kinda similar to SS&D. Also, Archer=SWOON.

6. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong had the same assistant editor who ended up acquiring SS&D, so clearly there are some parallels. Necromancy, girl with unexpected powers, misfit teens, and a delicious mystery make this book a favorite for me.

7. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier is a lot like Unspoken in terms of voice, and I just adored the main character, Gwyneth. The word “romp” pretty much embodies this book, and the sequel, Sapphire Blue, releases in a few weeks. EEEE!

8. Dearly Departed by Lia Habel is not a book I’ve actually read. HOWEVER, I hear it compared a lot or recommended a lot by people who’ve read both my book and this one. And I assume those people must know what they’re talking about. 😉

 

 You tell me: If you’ve read Something Strange and Deadly, do you have any reading recommendations to offer?

Get a free guide to writing query letters!

 

When you join the Misfits & Daydreamers, a community of over 6000 members who get biweekly insider tips on writing, publishing, and the author life!

You have Successfully Subscribed!