A Darkness Strange and Lovely

Something Strange & Deadly, Book 2

ISBN: 9780062083296 | Harper Teen | July 23rd 2013

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Reviews

[A Darkness Strange & Lovely has] a dark, glittering world, full of unforgettable characters, swashbuckling action, and heart-stopping romance. Susan Dennard’s books now have a permanent place on my All-Time Favorites shelf!

Sarah J. Maas
NYT Bestselling Author

Set against a backdrop of 19th-century Paris, the ambience [of A Darkness Strange & Lovely] is classic and romantic despite the walking dead roaming the streets. Their presence creates conflict and adds a perfect balance of action.

Romantic Times Book Review

[A Darkness Strange & Lovely is] enjoyable as a stand-alone, but will especially thrill fans of Something Strange and Deadly.

School Library Journal

[A Darkness Strange & Lovely is] fast paced and entertaining.

VOYA